šŸŽ Gifts that overcome distances

This is Better Gift Coach, where we give you long-distance gifts so good at making your presence felt that Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze would stop their pottery session to learn from you.

Talk about awesome long-distance group friendship giftsā€¦following our recentĀ šŸŽ Viva la mixtape edition, the Better Gift Coach community made a playlist together that we can all enjoy. So many of you responded with suggested tracks (thank you) that, even after trimming the list down, the final tracklist couldnā€™t fit on one CDā€™s worth of real estate. So folks, just like the great Forest Gump soundtrackā€¦we had no choice but to make this a double (virtual) CD. See the PS section for a tracklist and link.

Estimated read time: 1 minute & 57 seconds

THE GIFT STORY:

šŸŽTHE GIFT:

The ā€œlong-distance bear" Gift

My brother was on his 4th or 5th deployment to Iraq (this was in 2008-ish). I missed him dearly. I was home from college to spend Christmas with my parents, my brotherā€™s wife, and their 2 daughters. After we opened all the gifts, his wife told me that there was one more just for me. It was a Build-a-Bear dressed as a soldier that played a recording of my brother telling me that he loved me, missed me, and to take care of his bear. I hadnā€™t heard his voice in so long.

Kim from Michigan (xolovekim.com)

Have you ever received or given a gift similar to this one ~ or ~ want to share a completely unrelated story about an awesome gift?Ā Please simply reply to this email and it'll go directly to me!

YOUR VERSION OF THIS GIFT:

šŸ’”TIPS FOR YOUR GIFT:

My takeaway after an hour of combing through the online lists of gifts for long-distance relationships (romantic, family, friends, etc.), is that the best long-distance gifts make you continually feel much closer than the miles that separate you.

For my favorite long-distance relationship gifts that I found during my research:

For past BGC editions to revisit for long-distance relationship gift inspiration:

For long-distance relationship gift ideas that are experiences:

šŸ¤”GIFT BRAINSTORMING PROMPTS:

  • When is the next occasion in which youā€™ll be giving a long-distance gift?____

šŸ“‚Ā  If this gift idea is save-worthy, create a ā€œGift Ideasā€ inbox folder & file it away for future use ~or~ find it again in our library.

COMMUNITY FUN:

ā–¶ļøFORWARD THIS GIFT IDEA TO:

  • Anyone with a loved one who lives in another state

And introduce them to your favorite 1-minute a week shortcut to always having awesome gift ideas well in advance. They can read past editions and subscribe here.

šŸ‘‚LET'S HEAR FROM YOU:

Do you give Valentineā€™s Day gifts to people who arenā€™t your significant other?

Answer to see how others in the community replied.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

šŸ˜†GIF/MEME:

All the best,Patrick KucharsonBetter Gift Coachā„¢

P.S. Hereā€™s the link to the Better Gift Coach Community Playlist. See below for the tracklist and names of those who contributed. Let us know what you think! Enjoy!

What Did You Think of This Week's Newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

A SUBSCRIBER'S REVIEW (yes, I read them)

"Hi! Like you, I still have some treasured mixtapes given to me by friends in the 90s. A few years ago, I recreated one of those playlists and sent it back to the original gift giver on a flash drive. She was thrilled! Somehow, much of that music had disappeared from her collection over the years and she was happy to hear it again. She also really enjoyed seeing a time capsule of her past self."

- Jennifer

A recycled mixtape time capsule! Brilliant. Jennifer, you just elevated this communityā€™s mixtape gift brainstorming to a whole new level! Thanks!

Want more? Here's a few of our past popular posts:šŸŽ How to milk a dinner datešŸŽ Bask in their surprised reactionšŸŽ Snap this pic before itā€™s too late

Join the conversation

or to participate.