🎁 When $20 turns them to tears

Check out the shiny new format & design of the newsletter! Please let me know what you think of it.

 

My attempt to get you to crack a smile
before getting to today’s gift ideas

 

Hi gift-givers! In today’s newsletter, we are reminded that sometimes the best gifts are really simple. Let’s keep this in mind as we consider finalizing our Mother’s Day gifts.

 

One-ish more thing(s)
before today’s gift ideas

 

Happy early Mother’s Day to all you Mom-subscribers!

With some potentially awesome gifts coming your way, you may want to check out my thoughts on how to say thank you to someone in a meaningful way featured in this BestProducts.com piece.

 

Estimated read time: 2 minutes & 31 seconds

 

Gift idea time! Here’s a story of a great gift to spark your creativity

 

The “Treat Yourself" Gift:

When I was in my last year of grad school, my fiance was in the hospital for nearly a week around Valentine’s Day. Between working my job, taking my classes, and practicing for my recital (music major), I also spent every spare minute I could at the hospital to be with him. On Valentine's Day, my dad called me and told me that he was sending me $20 to spend on myself. Twenty dollars wasn't a crazy big gift, but the gesture of love and care during such a stressful time really touched me then. And even now, I tear up thinking about how much that meant to me.

Beka from Texas

***See below the P.S. section for more subscribers who submitted similar stories of “treat yourself” gifts that were their among their most memorable.

 

Why this gift is great

  • Makes them feel individually recognized

  • Unexpected (in a good way), so it stands out

  • Helps alleviate the guilt one might feel when it comes to self-care

  • Self-care is critically important, but many people put it on the back burner

 

Brainstorming your version of this gift

 

In general tips:

  • Don’t overthink what to give, it’s the thought that counts

  • The bar is comically low for what passes as a good “treat yourself” gift

  • Set the expectation that the gift is for specifically for them to treat themselves

 

Treat Yourself Gift Ideas:

 

Appropriate for so many occasions including:

  • Job loss

  • Final exams

  • Breakups/divorces

  • Sick family member

  • Births (see bonus story below)

  • Anniversary of something sad

  • Mother’s/Father’s Day (see bonus story below)

  • Passing of a loved one (see bonus story below)

  • Just-because

 

Making this gift happen

  • Who in your life is going through a difficult time? ___

  • What “treat yourself” gift best fits them? ___

  • What’s stopping you from following through on this gift? ___

 

Spread some love! Share this gift idea

 

Forward this email to:

  • A family member or friend of someone going through a difficult time

And introduce them to your favorite 1-minute-a-week shortcut to always having awesome gift ideas well in advance. They can read past editions and subscribe here.

 

Inspire others!
Share the stories of your best gifts

 

Please reply to this email ~ or ~ click the button below if you have stories of awesome gifts that you can share with the community that fall under the below topics:

  • Father’s Day gifts

  • Any memorable gift you’ve received or given

 

Your input helps others brainstorm

What “treat yourself” gift would you most prefer to receive?

Submit your answer to see what the rest of the community prefers.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

 

My attempt to send you off with a smile

 

Reminding you to treat yourself too,
Patrick Kucharson
Better Gift Coach

P.S. Who’s looking for Father’s Day gift ideas? Reply to this email with more about the Dad and I’ll help you brainstorm gifts.

 

More subscriber-submitted “treat yourself” gifts

Last year for Mother’s Day my husband occupied my son and gave me oodles of time to just sit and read on my couch. I know some mamas might want brunch, but for me that was perfect! 📖 ☕️

Sandra from Illinois

For a new baby I like to send what I call more of a “family gift” a Victoria’s Secret card for Mom and either a restaurant gift card or Uber Eats or Door Dash so no one has to cook one night! The baby gets a ton of stuff so I do this often.

Anonymous subscriber from Awesomeville

One thing I've started doing for long-distance friends is tucking some money into my condolence note and saying, please spend this on something that comforts you. A family friend did this for my family after we lost my beloved aunt, and it made me feel really cared-for. There are so many expenses after a major loss, and it can feel wrong and impossible to spend money on your own self, so getting permission to spend the money on some stupid, trashy comfort food for myself meant a lot.

J

Was this email helpful?

What Did You Think of This Week's Newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

 

More gift ideas

Want more? Here are a few of our past popular posts:
🎁 Cat nip for pet lovers
🎁 How to milk a dinner date
🎁 Perfect gift already in your house

Join the conversation

or to participate.