šŸŽ 10x my gift! How?

This is Better Gift Coach, where we are always striving to help you save time and 10x the impact of your gift-givingā€¦especially on Giving Tuesday.

Welcome new subscribers! If you care to learn more about me and why I started this weekly newsletter, please check out this 3-min video!

Estimated read time: 2 minute & 19 seconds

šŸ“ŠGIFT SCALE:

šŸŽTHE GIFT:

The ā€œCharitable Donation" Gift

Tears of joy streamed down my face as I watched the paper go up in flames. Last month, I paid my mortgage off early and celebrated by setting fire to my home mortgage note.

I first heard about Habitat [for Humanity] in 1991 when I was living in Aiken, S.C., with my six children. At the time, we were moving around a lot because I kept having trouble finding a decent place for us to live.

My sister Eartha told me about Habitat and suggested I apply for a home. I went to our local affiliate the very next day and filled out the paperwork. To my surprise, one night the committee told me I was approved.

My house did more than put a roof over my head. My life changed for the better after I moved in. I became a happier, healthier person.

Helen from South Carolina

šŸŒ®WHY THIS GIFT IS GREAT:

  • Made possible through the combined generosity of many individual donors. Over 80% of all donations to nonprofits in the US come from individuals (source).

šŸ“‚Ā  If this gift idea is save-worthy, create a ā€œGift Ideasā€ inbox folder & file it away for future use ~or~ find it again in our library.

YOUR VERSION OF THIS GIFT

šŸ’”TIPS FOR YOUR GIFT:

  • Kindness is not limited to monetary gifts. Get inspired by random acts of kindness

  • Charity NavigatorĀ - source for unbiased ratings of charities so that you can give with confidence

  • As a gift, donations to causes dear to the gift recipient can be winnersā€¦but not always. Findings from this studyĀ contend that itā€™s best to reserve these gifts for your closest family/friends.

When possible, find opportunities to match your contributions. To save you time, hereā€™s a list of a few well-known charities that have Giving Tuesday matches:

šŸ¤”GIFT BRAINSTORMING PROMPTS:

  • Of the people you are getting gifts for, who would appreciate a donation to a cause dear to them? ______

ā–¶ļøFORWARD THIS GIFT IDEA TO:

  • Someone stuck on a gift idea for a close family member/friend

And introduce them to your favorite 1-minute a week shortcut to always having awesome gift ideas well in advance. They can read past editions and subscribe here.

šŸ¤“GIFT GIVING BY THE NUMBERS:

Moms aged 35-44 were 2021ā€™s top volunteer group (source)

šŸ˜†GIF/MEME:

Make-A-Wish saw this gif and said..."hold my beer"

All the best,Patrick KucharsonBetter Gift Coachā„¢

P.S. Reply to this email with a story of the one of the best gifts you have ever given/received (50-150 words). We might feature it in a later newsletterā€¦which means, at no cost to you, youā€™ll be helping others give better gifts.

Want more? Here's a few of our past popular posts:šŸŽ Surprise thatā€™ll 3x Grinchā€™s HeartšŸŽ I stole from your mom, not sorryšŸŽ Nurture a relationship on autopilot

Join the conversation

or to participate.